Enter Amount:


And what avails it that science has come to treat space and time as simply forms of thought, and the material world as hypothetical, and withal our pretension of property and even of self-hood are fading with the rest, if, at last, even our thoughts are not finalities, but the incessant flowing and ascension reach these also, and each thought which yesterday was a finality, to-day is yielding to a larger generalization?

Ralph Waldo Emerson

Content View Hits : 3003233
Bread from a Non-Jewish Store PDF Print E-mail
Written by harav   
Thursday, 25 October 2012 14:25
Bread from a Non-Jewish Store

Yom 5, 09-08-65 — 09 MarHeshwan 5773 — 25-10-2012


Is bread from a non-Jewish store (without Rabbinic supervision) allowed?

1. Where kosher bread baked by a Jewish bakery is available, one should stick to that bread.
2. Where such bread is not readily available, one may eat non-Jewish bread provided that one knows for a fact that all ingredients are kosher (see Rambam’s MT Ma’akhaloth Asuroth 17:12). The ingredient that is sometimes an issue is the oil or fat used (vegetable oil is fine, and that is the oil most commonly used nowadays). Make sure there is no "improver" listed in the ingredients. “Improver” is sometimes actually beef lard.
3. Some breads contain grape juice as a sweetener. According to most Pos'qim non-Jewish grape juice is asur. I tend to disagree (see Tosaphoth HaRid, ‘Avodha  Zara 57a).

Rabbi David Bar-Hayim
Last Updated on Thursday, 25 October 2012 14:26